Check also our releases at Bandcamp!
  Home News Noize Hunit records Seja mailorder Seja records Links Contact Seja

Seja is an independant label that supports the ideas behind the DIY scene with a focus on indie, electronic and experimental music.

SEJA 02: “Traffic A.M. - Left Behind Left Within” LP info

Traffic A.M. - Left Behind Left Within (Seja 02)

A1 Overrun
A2 Time
A3 Change
A4 Resist

B1 Sudden Crash
B2 Love
B3 Subway Story (Repetition)
B4 Difficult

Order your LP at Seja here!

Selected press quotes:

...The music of Michel Kissing and Stefan Gonser sounds like a long missed friend as they give a flying fuck on the recent efforts and inventions of the pseudo-Goth/Electro-kids. There is a huge amount of nostalgia and 80s-inpired mood integrated to their music, reviews of them often picked-up relations to The Cure and/or Joy Division. Here stands surely a fair amount of truth behind, but since we so-called music journalists are always searching for the right shelf to sort music-projects into, I was about to throw in additionally names like Poesie Noire and melodic-sounding Neon Judgement as possible quells of inspiration to the ring. To cut that short: Traffic A.M. play a sort of Electronica-driven Dark Wave music, which can find influences with already established projects, but it is far away of being a faceless try to copy. Signed to the Netherlands-based label Seja Records, this vinyl-only release (!!!) limited to 300 exemplars is a goody not to be missed. The attractive, mostly calm and Electropop-inspired synthesizer arrangements as well as the Wave-influenced guitar inserts got perfectly united with Stefan Gonser's natural and melodic sounding vocal performance. This duo knows the right registers to entertain: they avoid musically any hectic of the rushing times, although their lyrical content reflects pretty much socio-critical content. The Post-Industrial / Neo-Wave flame is alive and kicking with them, and even if they fall into the trap to get very close to already known EBM-related themes ('Subway Story (Repetition)'), they still proof to find an elegant way out of it. Eight tracks for you to consume pressed on high-quality vinyl and to me especially that warm, analogue sound of the needle of your record-player strengthens the overall good impression of this release. Traffic A.M. want their music to speak for itself - the music speaks wisely in this case, so hurry up and purchase this records - only 300 available exemplars are faster gone than you can think of...
(Chain D.L.K.)

Die Kölner Band liefert mit „Left Behind Left Within“ ein Album ab, bei dem sich wundern muss, warum es nur limitiert auf 300 Stück veröffentlicht wird, denn die Songs haben fast durchgängig Hitpotential – und das ist in diesem Fall nur positiv zu verstehen...
... “Change” beispielsweise ist ein großartiges Stück bester Post Punk-Manier, das durch die Bassläufe sehr an The Cure's “17 Seconds”-Album erinnert.

... Left Behind Left Within brengt sferen in gedachte die rondwaarden in de jaren '80; compleet met in Oost-Indische inkt gedrenkte gemoedstoestanden waarop Ian Curtis en co patent hebben gekregen. Het leven was niet rooskleurig en daar zou zo één-twee-drie ook geen verandering in gaan komen. Zo bezien Michael Kissing en Stefan Gonser de toestand anno 2012 blijkbaar ook, want hun post-wave rust op een stevig fundament dat opgebouwd is uit eightiesidioom...
... Wat de plaat meeslepend maakt op een hypnotiserend humane manier is de manier waarop de teksten handen en voeten geven aan desolate gevoelens in een neo-postindustrieel tijdperk. Niet om daarin te zwelgen of als laatste der wave-Mohikanen in een overgebleven tochtige loods de wavedanspasjes te etaleren (met het hoofd omlaag, natuurlijk), maar als clarion call om ook met een wellicht onvermijdelijk nakend einde de ogen en armen te openen voor de menselijke en emotionele maat.

... "Time" has got a few Curesque guitars and "Change" is very similar to a certain Siouxsie song... love the bass! They put minimal electronics a bit more on the foreground though, but they are not like Martial Canterel or Sixth June! It's a mix of these so you might think this is going to be the album of the year! ...
(Peek-A-Boo Magazine)

...Nu de wereld anno 2012 opnieuw ten prooi is gevallen aan economisch en ecologisch wanbeheer komt het uit Keulen afkomstige Traffic A.M. als geroepen met zijn donkergekleurde, atmosferische post-wave...
... Duister, afstandelijk is de muziek van Traffic A.M., een enigmatisch duo dat zich zelfs op het alles blootleggende internet nagenoeg in stilzwijgen hult. Het tweetal, bestaande uit Michael Kissing & Stefan Gonser, vindt dat de muziek moet spreken voor Traffic A.M., en dat is exact wat er gebeurt. Gedragen door koele synths en repetitieve drummachines, de kille machinerie van cold-, post- en dark wave, evoceren de heren hun gevoelens van angst en verlatenheid, angst en het besef van een naderend einde op even hypnotiserende als meeslepende wijze.

(Dietmar Terpstra)

You can order all Seja releases through Bandcamp. This is especially cool for those who like downloads with their purchase. If you want to order multiple items or records we sell from other labels it is often cheaper to buy them at the Seja webstore and order by
e-mail. It is a bit more work but it can save you some money.