Check also our releases at Bandcamp!
  Home News Noize Hunit records Seja mailorder Seja records Links Contact Seja

Seja is an independant label that supports the ideas behind the DIY scene with a focus on indie, electronic and experimental music.

SEJA 11: “Venin Carmin - Glam Is Gone” LP info

Venin Carmin - Glam Is Gone LP
(SEJA 11)

A1 Pure & Alive
A2 Mirror Dirty Mirror
A3 Suckers (Are You)
A4 The Perfume, The Poison
A5 Fade & Forget

B1 Drawing Down The Moon
B2 All You Got Is The Sun
B3 July Ain't Summer
B4 The Spiral Dance
B5 Glam Is Gone

LP, ltd to 300 copies, comes with download code.

Selected press quotes:

... “Pure & Alive” is definitely into the 80 spirit dealing with a typical deep bass line and a kind of new-wave & pop approach. The next few songs hold on to the same sound formula, but globally it sounds more into psychedelic music as well. “Suckers (Are You)” sounds a bit more provocative, but reminds me sound-wise to the great “Planet Claire” from The B52’s.
A next interesting cut is “Fade & Forget”, which sounds more delicate and evasive and, which will possibly appeal for fans of Ladytron. Venin Carmin definitely is a talented artist who tries to exorcise different ideas throughout the 10 songs. She also walks on quieter music paths with an extra electronic touch (cf. “Drawing Down The Moon”) and with some more passion in the vocals.
The wave-pop minded “July Ain’t Summer” brings us back to the better part of this work, which a great balance between guitar and electronics. This sound formula has been used as well on the title song, which also is the last cut. Here again I noticed a more enraged and passionate style, which comes through in the production of the vocals and music as well..."
(Side-Line Magazine)

... "Venin Carmin is een Franse multi-instrumentaliste, die op haar vinyldebuut Glam Is Gone op het spraakmakende Nederlandse label Seja uitbrengt. Ze presenteert zich hier als de liefdesbaby van Joy Division, The Cure, O.M.D. en Clan Of Xymox, maar dan wel met een eigen tegendraadse mening. En zo hoort het ook met eigengereide nazaten! Carmin brengt weliswaar de betere new wave en post-punk van weleer ten gehore, maar koppelt dat net zo gemakkelijk aan indie en pop. Met haar prettige, ontwapende zang weet ze je daarbij eenvoudig in te pakken. Ze manoeuvreert daarmee van de eerder genoemde artiesten met simpel gemak naar Stereo Total, Chicks On Speed, The xx, Mushy, Chelsea Wolfe en Vive La Fête. Een vrolijk feest (der herkenning) van hier en nu, uiteraard gehuld in zwarte feestkledij. Maar wat een heerlijke aanvulling op de hedendaagse muziek..."

... "Influenced by 80s post punk and new wave, she's writing her songs from a female perspective and they talk about relationships, boredom, sex and violence. Listening to the ten tracks of her album it's coming to my mind an image as Venin Carmin could be an electronic version of the early Blondie but sometimes she lacks that energy that a track is needing to be remembered by a wider audience. So, instead, we could say that "Glam Is Gone" is more intimate and there's nothing wrong with that, also because the guitars on "July Ain't Summer" are recalling me a little bit The Cure. Anyway... Mixing electro pop and new wave, Venin Carmin has packed a nice album with catchy synth melodies, flangered guitar/bass guitar and melancholic vocals..."
(Chain D.L.K.)

... "De liedjes van Carmin zijn ook geraffineerd. De finesse zit soms in de kleine dingen. Verschillende luisterbeurten laten je nieuwe details ontdekken. Breekbare songs als ‘All You Got Is The Sun’ of ‘The Spiral Dance’ doen dat met mondjesmaat terwijl meer uptempo nummers kwistiger zijn met het rondstrooien van stemmingswisselingen. Maar altijd afgemeten, nooit echt uitbundig, noch sentimenteel. Venin Carmin klinkt er ziet er uit als een poppetje, maar schijn bedriegt. Haar jeugdige onschuld gaat hand in hand met een volwassen kijk op de wereld die hier accuraat en precies in beeld wordt gebracht. Soms laat ze ook haar sensuele kant bewonderen. Het maakt van ‘Glam Is Gone’ een veelzijdig album..."
(Dark Entries)

You can order all Seja releases through Bandcamp. This is especially cool for those who like downloads with their purchase. If you want to order multiple items or records we sell from other labels it is often cheaper to buy them at the Seja webstore and order by
e-mail. It is a bit more work but it can save you some money.